Drop Down Menu

Social Services

Rhonda R. Alleryrrallery@nd.gov
County Social Services Director

Lakes Social Service District
524 4th Ave NE#19
Devils Lake, ND 58301-2400

Fuel Assistance Application (.pdf)

To apply online for North Dakota’s Public Assistance Programs please go to https://apps.nd.gov/dhs/ea/oasys/public/main.htm

2015 Meeting Dates

Contact Information:

Children and Family Services:        

Dianna Skold, LSW – Supervisor – dskold@nd.gov

            Kristi Hoistad, MSW – In-home Supervisor – khoistad@nd.gov

            Hannah Ritteman, MSW – In-home Case Manager – hritteman@nd.gov

            Christine Stiven, LSW – Lead CPS Worker – cstiven@nd.gov

            Madisyn Kalinowski – CPS Worker – mkalinowski@nd.gov

            Sydney Glende, LSW – In-Home Case Manager – sglende@nd.gov

            Amber Duey, LSW – Foster Care Case Manager – ambduey@nd.gov

            Christine Olson, LSW – Foster Care Case Manager – chriolson@nd.gov

            Sara Heidebrink – Foster Care Case Manager – sheidebrink@nd.gov

            Cheryl Perkuhn – Parent Aide – cperkuhn@nd.gov

Public Assistance Programs:

            Valerie Pederson – Eligibility Supervisor – vapederson@nd.gov

            Carolyn Solseth – Eligibility Worker – csolseth@nd.gov

            John LaLonde - Eligibility Worker – jelalonde@nd.gov

            Brenda Hoime - Eligibility Worker – bhoime@nd.gov

            Kari Rinas - Eligibility Worker – krinas@nd.gov

            Cindy Quam - Eligibility Worker – cquam@nd.gov

            Laurie Rodriquez - Eligibility Worker – lrodriguez@nd.gov

            Darla Plummer - Eligibility Worker – dplummer@nd.gov

            Cyndi Bennington - Eligibility Worker, Towner County - cbennington@nd.gov

Home and Community Based Services:

            Mary Bartram, LSW – Case Manager – mbartram@nd.gov

            Angie Holtz, LSW – Case Manager – amholtz@nd.gov

            Beatrice Haugen – Direct Care Associate – beahaugen@nd.gov

            Tania Vilandre – Direct Care Associate – tvilandre@nd.gov

            Karen Krueger – Direct Care Associate – claytonandkaren@gmail.com

Child Care Provider Licensing:

            Jody Pike – Child Care Licenser – jlpike@nd.gov

Administrative Staff:

            Christine Cichos – Administrative Staff Officer – ccichos@nd.gov

            Briana Schlosser – Administrative Assistant – briaschlosser@nd.gov

            Audrey Wang – Office Assistant/Health Tracks Coordinator – awang@nd.gov

Mission Statement:

Lakes Social Service District provides services to individuals and families who are vulnerable to meet basic needs and to promote self-sufficiency.

All people are treated with dignity and respect.
High quality service is the goals of all programs.
Promote a strong partnership with individual clients.
Promote leadership on community wide needs.
The agency will strive to be responsible and efficient stewards of all resources.

Lakes Social Service District (LSSD) is a department of Ramsey and Towner County government that has been designated by law to provide poor relief and related services to the citizens of Ramsey and Towner County.The majority of the services/programs offered by the county are done in conjunction with state and federal agencies, particularly the North Dakota Department of Human Services.Lakes Social Service District provides a wide range of services including both social services and economic assistance programs.Some services are provided directly by county employees and others are provided through contracts.

Administrative Structure:
Lakes Social Service District is directly responsible to the Lakes Social Service Board.The Board is accountable to the Ramsey and Towner County Commissions and, where designated, the North Dakota Department of Human Services.The Board consists of six members, four of whom are County Commissioners and two are members at large, one from each county.The Lakes Social Service District Board meets monthly.The Board appoints the Director of Social Services.

In 2015, the Lakes Social Service District has 29 authorized/budgeted positions. Personnel include a County Director, a child care licensor, social workers, family service specialists, eligibility workers, homemakers, and a variety of support staff.

The 2015, the Lakes Social Service District operating budget is over $2.6 million dollars (including approximately $1.8 million in county funds).This budget includes both the county share of funding for services and some state/federal program funds for both Ramsey and Towner County.Lakes Social Service District’s budget does not include all financial benefits paid to/for clients through programs such as Medical Assistance, TANF, Child Care Assistance, LIHEAP, and Food Stamps.

Civil Rights Statement:
Lakes Social Service District makes available all services/assistance without regard to race, color, national origin, religion, sex, handicap or political affiliation and is subject to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the Age Discrimination Act of 1975 as amended and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1991.


Children's Special Health Services (formerly Crippled Children's Services): A state funded program administered by the county to identify, diagnose, and treat children who have congenital handicaps or other conditions resulting from injuries or illnesses. Eligible families must meet income guidelines.

ND Health Tracks (formerly EPSDT): A program of preventive health care directed to children who are eligible for medical assistance.Emphasis is on early diagnosis and treatment.

TANF: Temporary Assistance to Needy Families formerly AFDC: A program to provide financial assistance to children, deprived of parental support, who are in need of money for food, shelter, clothing, and personal needs.

Food Stamps: A cooperative effort of County, State and Federal governments to assure proper nutrition for all eligible participants by increasing their food buying power.

Foster Care: A program whereby payment for room, board, supervision, clothing and personal needs can be made for children who cannot live with relatives, but in licensed foster homes.

General Assistance (GA): The General Assistance Program is an emergency assistance program intended to meet basic maintenance needs of families in financial crisis, disabled adults, and burial of deceased poor persons.

Low Income Home Energy Program (LIHEAP): A program to provide emergency and home energy assistance to eligible low income households to help defray the expense of fuel costs.

Medical Assistance (MA): A program designed to assist individuals and families who do not have enough income to obtain health care. Within the guidelines of Medical Assistance, the Basic Care Assistance Program is a payment to subsidize the loss of care for eligible individuals in Basic Care Facilities or Adult Foster Care.

Child Care Assistance (CCA): A federal program to provide financial assistance to low income families to meet their child care expenses resulting from employment, education or training.

Subsidized Adoption Payments


Child Protection Assessments: A program that provides for an assessment of allegations of child abuse or neglect and determines a finding that a family needs services.

Emergency On-Call Services: A service that permits law enforcement and the courts to contact a social worker to assess child welfare matters after office hours and on holidays.

Permanency & Safety Funds (formerly known as Wrap-Around Financial Assistance): A service that may provide financial assistance to a family to help prevent the placement of children in out-of-home care.Other avenues of payment for these services must not be available to this family.

Wrap Around Family Case Management Services: A set of services that includes therapeutic intervention and case management for families that have been identified with children in out-of -home placement or at imminent risk of out- of- home placement.

Child Placement Services (child foster care): A process of placing children who are in the custody of the county into some type of out-of- home placements, such as foster or residential care.

Family, Group and Center Child Care Licensing and Child Care Registration: A service that permits individuals and groups to provide licensed child care.Licensing requires minimal standards for care and the physical environment.

Family Foster Care Licensing: A service that recruits, trains and recommends licensing for the care of children in need of out-of-home placement.The licensing process includes criminal background checks and home studies. 

Parent Aide Services: A service that will place a para-professional to work with families, providing education, on-hands tasks, and support.

Prime Time Day Care Services: Provides financial payments to licensed day care providers for the care of children who are victims of neglect or abuse and/or are at risk and in out-of-home placement.  This service is accessed through a child welfare case manager, which assists families with special child care needs. 

Crossroads Child Care Program: Financial payment for child care for single minors who wish to attend high school.

Intensive In-home Services: Authorized by CSS and provided by The Village through a contract with ND Department of Human Services.


LSSD provides comprehensive social services to the adult and/or physically disabled population of Ramsey and Towner County.  These services may be provided directly by LSSD staff, through the use of county authorized QSP’s – Qualified Service Providers, or by authorized family members.

Home and Community Based Services.

Home and Community Based Service Case Managers work with clients to promote self-care and independent living.  Services are funded by Service Payments for the Elderly and Disabled (SPED) Program, Expanded Sped Program, Targeted Case Management, through ND Medicaid and/or the Medicaid Waiver.Services include: Environmental Modification, Adult Day Care, Adult Family Foster Care, HCBS Case Management, Chore Services, Family Home Care, Homemaker, Personal Care (previously known as Home Health Aide), Non-Medical Transportation, and Respite Care. 

Information and Referral

Assistance is also provided regarding resources in areas such as employment or training, housing, transportation, senior services, legal, financial, medical, mental health services or other public or private human services.




Search this site powered by FreeFind

© 2010 Ramsey County North Dakota - All Rights Reserved
Deisnged and Hosted by NDTC